Some more tole painting / Să revenim puţin la pictură (video)

sunglasses case

I finally found the time for something I have long wanted to blog about (or at least do more than just showing pictures): my love for (tole) painting. I have been learning how to paint since the summer of 2012, and I’m still as excited about it as I was at first🙂

Tole painting is a kind of folk art or decorative painting that uses acrylic paints. It started in the 18th century as a way of decorating furniture or pottery.

What I’m learning now is Assendelft painting, a Dutch style painting brought to Japan by Mrs. Hisayo Katsurada, some 20 years ago. The motives are flowers, birds, or fruits. So far I’ve learned to paint flowers – and they are my favourite – on wood, tin, glass, or leather. I’ve decorated coasters, glasses, tins, a mug, bags, a bottle, wallets, a bowl and a jewellery box. Now I’m working on a wooden Christmas tree (don’t worry, it will definitely be done by X-mas🙂, much sooner I think). I will share pictures with you as soon as it’s done.

But until then, as now it’s spring and especially cherry blossom season, enjoy a tin with a cherry blossom (sakura, in Japanese) painted on it, and some spring flowers (tulips and crocuses on a bag – among others)! 

And, in the end, I’ll leave you with a video I made. Enjoy!

For more pictures of my paintings, please visit my Tole painting page. 

În sfârşit mi-am făcut timp pentru ceva ce de mult vroiam să postez (mai mult decât doar să arăt poze): pasiunea mea, pictura (decorativă). Învăţ să pictez din vara anului 2012, şi acum sunt la fel de încântată ca şi la început🙂

“Tole painting” e un fel de artă populară sau pictură decorativă care foloseşte vopsele acrilice. A început în secolul 18, ca şi modalitate de a decora mobilă sau obiecte de ceramică.

Eu învăţ pictură Assendelft, un stil olandez de pictură, adus în Japonia de D-na Hisayo Katsurada, în urmă cu vreo 20 de ani. Motivele sunt flori, păsări sau fructe. Până acum am învăţat să pictez flori, care-mi plac cel mai mult, şi ca material pe care să pictez am folosit lemn, metal, sticlă sau piele. Am decorat suporturi de pahare, pahare, cutii de metal, o cană, genţi, o sticlă, portofele, un bol şi o cutie de bijuterii. Acum lucrez la un pom de Crăciun din lemn (nu vă faceţi griji, intenţionez să-l termin până la Crăciun🙂, chiar mai repede). Când e gata, vă voi arăta şi poze.

Dar până atunci, deoarece acum e primăvară şi mai ales sezonul cireşilor înfloriţi, vă las cu o cutie din metal pe care am pictat o floare de cireş (sakura, in japoneză) şi o geantă cu flori de primăvară (lalele şi brânduşe, printre altele). 

Şi, în final, vă las şi cu un videoclip pe care l-am făcut recent. Sper să vă placă!

 

Dacă doriţi să vedeţi mai multe poze cu picturile mele, le găsiţi pe pagina Tole painting

sakura (tin box)

geanta

Posted on April 3, 2014, in Tole painting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hi Raveca,
    Wow – your talents are developing in this area. It’s hard to believe from these works that you describe yourself as learning. Very well done🙂.
    John

  2. That’s beautiful!🙂

Leave a Reply

